Understanding DFARS

Understanding DFARS

A photo of a domestic industrial metal mine that's Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement (DFARS) compliant

If you have ever purchased refractory metal mill products or fabrications for a job you are working on for a government entity or government prime contractor, chances are you’ve seen the following statement: “Material Must Be DFARS Compliant.”

DFARS stands for Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement.

It is a set of restrictions for the origination of raw materials intended to protect the US defense industry from the vulnerabilities of being overly dependent on foreign sources of supply.

For those of you with government or defense-related contracts, compliance with DFARS is crucial.

In our industry, the supply and fabrication of refractory metals, we’re concerned with one single clause; DFARS, 252.225-7014 “Preference for domestic specialty metals.” This clause was added in 1973 and has been amended.

It provides specific rules about what’s considered a “specialty metal,” and which countries those metals must be melted in.

DFARS Qualifying Countries

The term DFARS compliant refers to materials (metal or otherwise) that come from domestic or NATO sources. However, there are countries included in DFARS that are not members of NATO.

DFARS qualifying countries (Per DFARS 225.872-1) include:

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Egypt
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom

Which Specialty Metals Require DFARS Standards?

Not every metal used in government or defense contracts requires DFARS’ standards.

DFARS “Specialty Metals” requiring compliance (Per DFARS 252.225-7008):

Steel: With a maximum alloy content exceeding one or more of the following limits: manganese, 1.65 percent; silicon, .60 percent; or copper, .60 percent; or Containing more than 0.25 percent of any of the following elements: aluminum, chromium, cobalt, columbium, molybdenum, nickel, titanium, tungsten, or vanadium;

Metal alloys consisting of nickel, iron-nickel, and cobalt base alloys containing a total of other alloying metals (except iron) in excess of 10 percent;

Titanium and titanium alloys; or Zirconium and zirconium base alloys.

Therefore, tungsten, molybdenum, and TZM Molybdenum alloy fall under the DFARS compliance laws. However, Tantalum and Niobium are exempt.

Need DFARS Compliant Materials?

Rembar stocks and precision-machines DFARS compliant tungsten, molybdenum, and TZM (as well as tantalum and niobium which are exempt from DFARS regulations). Contact our knowledgeable and experienced sales engineers today for a quote by filling out the form below or call us at (914)693-2620.


More DFARS information can be found here: